Copyrights

Copyright and Terms of Use

Access to eluxemburgensia.lu

All content on eluxemburgensia.lu can be searched and read for free. As a general rule, content can also be downloaded or printed and is available from a location of your choice, including for example your home. However, some collections, such as the postcards collection, as well as a number of individual articles or photographs, are only accessible inside the building of the National Library.

Such limited access collections are marked with "Access only inside the National library" or "Access only BnL".

Access to content through eluxemburgensia.lu is based the National Library’s mission to "ensure access by the largest possible public to its collections, including from outside its buildings, using the most modern data transmission technologies" ("d'assurer l'accès du plus grand nombre aux collections, y compris par (...) la consultation à distance, en utilisant les technologies les plus modernes de transmission des données", Loi du 25 juin 2004 portant réorganisation des instituts culturels de l'Etat, Article 9)

Permitted uses

You are allowed to make a private copy of all content available on eluxemburgensia.lu. Private copying is based on an exception and limitation of Luxembourg copyright law. Private copying excludes for instance the possibility to use such copies for indirect or direct commercial purposes. For more information on permitted uses, please see below under the heading "Protected works".

Content which is part of the Public Domain can be used for any purpose, including commercial use, without asking for permission. Public Domain content is marked with this icon:

No Copyright

Content which is not part of the Public Domain, is protected by copyright.

Copyright has several limitations and exceptions, such as private copying. If limitations and exceptions do not cover your desired use, you have to get permission from the author and any other potential rights holder (publisher, translator, illustrator, etc.). For further Information on permitted uses through the limitations and exceptions in copyright law, please see below "Protected Works".

Protected content is marked with this icon:

In Copyright

additionally, if only accessible inside the buildings of the National Library, with "Access only inside the National library" or "Access only BnL".

Citation and attribution

To correctly attribute your sources please use the "quotation mark" icon :

Capture1

An automatically generated source citation will pop up:

Capture5

Please note that correct attribution is a prerequisite for many uses based on limitations and exceptions of copyright law!

The Public Domain

Copyright law only gives temporary protection to works. Protection expires 70 years after the death of the author. These 70 years are calculated from the 1st January following the death of the author. Once the work becomes part of the Public Domain it can be freely used, including for commercial purposes. The National Library has adopted a conservative approach for estimating this moment in time. In 2021, all works published before the 31st December 1878 are considered to be in the Public Domain. In 2022, this cut-off date will be the 31st December 1879 and so on. This conservative method ensures that any dataset which is published for Humanities research is certainly free of rights. It could also mean that some works, which are actually in the Public Domain, are not included. If you are aware of such works, please do let us know: licensing@bnl.etat.lu.

For further information on the National Library's policy on the Public Domain, please have a look at the "Europeana Public Domain Charter". If you have further questions, please ask us: licensing@bnl.etat.lu.

It is important to remember that there may be other rights and rights holders besides the original author. There may be multiple layers of rights which apply to a single work, such as neighbouring rights, publisher's rights, database rights, etc. Make sure to always consult the law in its entirety!

Protected Works

Using works protected by copyright is possible through the limitations and exceptions of Luxembourg copyright law.

For any use that goes beyond these limitations and exceptions you must obtain permission of the author as well as any other potential rights holders. The National Library may be able to assist you to identify rights holders. Please submit your query through licensing@bnl.etat.lu. Please note that rights clearance as such is not a service of the National Library.

The extent of the permitted uses through limitations and exception of copyright law is summarily described below. Please always check the full text of the law! It is available here: http://legilux.public.lu/eli/etat/leg/loi/2004/04/18/n4/jo

Provided the author is given correct attribution (see above: Citation and attribution), this is a summary of exceptions and limitations contained in article 10:

  • art. 10.1 - short citations;
  • art. 10.2 - reproduction and public communication of short fragments of works for the exclusive purpose of teaching or scientific research;
  • art. 10.4 - private copies, made by natural persons for their own private use;
  • art. 10.6 - caricature and parody;
  • art. 10.11 - reproduction and public communication of works for the benefit of persons with disabilities, limited to the actual requirements of the respective disability and of a non-commercial nature.

Systematic or automated downloads

In order to ensure that eluxemburgensia.lu is available in the best possible manner for the whole public, automated or systematic downloading is prohibited. The National Library reserves the right to block such downloads.

Structural data

Content available via eluxemburgensia goes beyond simple digital reproductions in image format. Content is put through a semi-automatic analysis process to identify articles, photographs and the position of each word on every page. Additionally, a process called "OCR" (Optical Character Recognition) is run to allow textual searches.

This structural data is in METS/ALTO format. If you wish to use this data, please get in touch: licensing@bnl.etat.lu. For technical questions (cataloguing, data format, profiles, processes) please contact eluxemburgensia@bnl.etat.lu.

Rights clearance

For all works which are not part of the Public Domain, the National Library fully respects copyrights and aims to obtain permission from all authors and rights holders, including publishers and collective management organisations.

It is however problematic to achieve complete rights clearance for all individual works in the context of mass digitisation. For each individual work the author and other rights holders have to be identified as well as the full historical contractual relationships between them. For commercial rights holders it is necessary to reconstruct commercial successions. Once authors are identified, they have to be located and it has to be established whether they are alive or deceased. If they happen to be deceased, and copyrights have not yet expired, their heirs need to be identified and located.

There are several million individual works, including each article, photograph, etc. in the collection of eLuxemburgensia.lu. The long duration of exclusive rights conferred by copyright law makes it practically impossible to exhaustively clarify the rights of all works. An additional problem for works published in newspaper is that the full names of authors are rarely, if at all, mentioned.

To allow for mass digitisation and digital access to the works of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries, the existing legal framework evolves through the transposition of the CDSM (Copyright in the Digital Single Market) directive, notably through the addition of an “out-of-commerce” status for works, for the benefit of cultural heritage organisations. If interested, the parliamentary dossier (“Rôle des affaires”) is 7847.

The National Library is welcoming further enquiries as to its rights clearance policies from authors and rights holders via licensing@bnl.etat.lu.

Droits

Droits et conditions d'utilisation

Consultation de eluxemburgensia.lu

Vous pouvez rechercher et consulter les contenus de eluxemburgensia.lu gratuitement. En règle générale les contenus peuvent être imprimés ou téléchargés et sont disponibles via internet à partir d'un endroit de votre choix, tel que votre domicile. Toutefois, quelques collections, telle que la collection des cartes postales, ainsi que certains articles ou photographies individuelles ne sont accessibles qu’à l'intérieur du bâtiment de la Bibliothèque nationale.

Un tel accès limité est indiqué par la mention "Accès seulement à la Bibliothèque nationale" ou "Accès limité BnL".

L’accès aux contenus de eluxemburgensia.lu repose sur la mission publique de la Bibliothèque nationale "d'assurer l'accès du plus grand nombre aux collections, y compris par (...) la consultation à distance, en utilisant les technologies les plus modernes de transmission des données" (Loi du 25 juin 2004 portant réorganisation des instituts culturels de l'Etat, Article 9).

Utilisation des contenus eluxemburgensia.lu

Vous pouvez faire une copie privée de tous les contenus eluxemburgensia.lu pour un usage personnel. La copie privée est une des limitations et exceptions du droit d'auteur luxembourgeois. La copie privée exclut notamment une utilisation de ces copies à des fins directement ou indirectement commerciales. Pour plus d'informations sur les utilisations autorisées, voir ci-dessous : « Les œuvres protégées ».

Les contenus faisant partie du domaine public peuvent être utilisés à toutes fins, y compris à des fins commerciales. Ces contenus sont signalés par l'icône :

No Copyright

Les contenus ne faisant pas partie du domaine public sont protégés par le droit d'auteur. Le droit d'auteur comporte plusieurs limitations et exceptions, comme la copie privée. Si votre utilisation souhaitée n’est pas couverte par les limitations et exceptions en vigueur, vous devez obtenir la permission explicite de l’auteur et tout autre détenteur potentiel de droits (éditeur, traducteur, illustrateur, etc.).

Pour de plus amples informations sur les utilisations autorisées par le biais des limitations et exceptions prévues par la loi sur le droit d'auteur, veuillez consulter la rubrique « Œuvres protégées » ci-dessous.

Les contenus protégés sont signalés par l'icône :

In copyright

et additionnellement, si l'accès à l'œuvre protégée est seulement possible à l'intérieur de la Bibliothèque nationale, par la mention "Accès seulement à la Bibliothèque nationale" ou "Accès limité BnL".

Indication de source

Pour attribuer correctement vos sources, veuillez cliquer sur l'icône "guillemets".

Capture1

On vous propose alors une indication de source générée automatiquement : 

Capture5

Veuillez noter que l'indication correcte de la source est un prérequis pour bénéficier de nombre d'utilisations permises par les exceptions et limitations du droit d'auteur!

Le domaine public

La loi sur le droit d'auteur ne confère qu'une protection temporaire aux œuvres. La protection expire 70 ans après la mort de l'auteur. Ces 70 ans sont calculés à partir du 1er janvier suivant le décès de l'auteur. Une fois que l'œuvre fait partie du domaine public, elle peut être utilisée librement, y compris à des fins commerciales. La Bibliothèque nationale a adopté une approche conservatrice pour estimer ce moment dans le temps. En 2021, toutes les œuvres publiées avant le 31 décembre 1878 seront considérées comme faisant partie du domaine public. En 2022, cette date butoir sera le 31 décembre 1879 et ainsi de suite. Cette méthode conservatrice garantit que tout ensemble de données publié pour la recherche en "Humanités numériques" est certainement libre de droits. Cela pourrait également signifier que certaines œuvres, qui sont effectivement dans le domaine public, ne sont pas incluses. Si vous connaissez de telles œuvres, veuillez nous en informer : licensing@bnl.etat.lu.

Pour de plus amples informations sur la politique de la Bibliothèque nationale en matière de domaine public, veuillez consulter la Charte du domaine public d'Europeana. Si vous avez d'autres questions, n'hésitez pas à nous les poser : licensing@bnl.etat.lu.

Il est important de se rappeler qu'il peut y avoir d'autres droits et titulaires de droits que l'auteur original. Il peut y avoir plusieurs niveaux de droits qui s'appliquent à une seule œuvre, comme les droits voisins, les droits de l'éditeur ou les droits sur les bases de données. Veillez à toujours consulter la loi dans son intégralité !

Les oeuvres protégées

L'utilisation des œuvres protégées est possible suivant les exceptions et limitations au droit d'auteur selon la législation luxembourgeoise.

Pour toute utilisation allant au-delà des exceptions et limitations légales, vous devez obtenir l’autorisation de l'auteur ainsi que de tout autre détenteur potentiel de droits. La Bibliothèque nationale peut être en mesure de vous aider à identifier les détenteurs de droits. Veuillez soumettre votre demande par le biais de licensing@bnl.etat.lu. Veuillez noter que la clarification des droits en soi n'est pas un service offert par la Bibliothèque nationale.

L'étendue des utilisations autorisées par le biais des limitations et des exceptions de la loi sur le droit d'auteur est décrite sommairement ci-dessous. Veuillez toujours vérifier le texte intégral de la loi ! Il est disponible ici : http://legilux.public.lu/eli/etat/leg/loi/2004/04/18/n4/jo

Pour autant que l'auteur soit correctement cité (voir ci-dessus : Citation et attribution), ceci est un résumé des utilisations permises contenues dans l'article 10 :

  • art. 10.1 - les courtes citations
  • art. 10.2 - la reproduction et la communication au public de courts fragments d'œuvres à titre exclusif d'illustration de l'enseignement ou de la recherche scientifique
  • art. 10.4 - la copie privée, par une personne physique pour son usage privé
  • art. 10.6 - la caricature et la parodie
  • art. 10.11 - la reproduction et la communication au public d'oeuvres au bénéfice de personnes affectées d'un handicap, qui sont directement liées au handicap en question et sont de nature non commerciale, dans la mesure requise par ledit handicap.

Téléchargement automatisé ou systématique

Afin d'assurer une disponibilité optimale d'eluxemburgensia pour tous les utilisateurs, le téléchargement automatisé ou systématique de contenus est défendu. La Bibliothèque nationale se réserve le droit de bloquer de tels téléchargements.

Les données structurelles

Les contenus eluxemburgensia.lu n'ont pas seulement été numérisés en mode image mais aussi analysés suivant un processus semi-automatisé pour identifier et découper chaque article, identifier la position de chaque mot sur la page et identifier les lettres imprimées par des processus "OCR" (Optical Character Recognition). Les principaux résultats sont : la possibilité de créer des tables de matière qui, par exemple pour les quotidiens, n'existaient pas dans l'original et la possibilité de faire des recherches textuelles.

Ces données structurelles sont au format METS/ALTO. Si vous souhaitez utiliser ces données, veuillez prendre contact avec : licensing@bnl.etat.lu. Pour les questions techniques (catalogage, format des données, profils, processus), veuillez contacter eluxemburgensia@bnl.etat.lu.

La clarification des droits

Pour toutes les œuvres qui ne font pas partie du domaine public, la Bibliothèque nationale respecte pleinement les droits d'auteur et vise à obtenir l'autorisation de tous les auteurs et titulaires de droits, y compris des éditeurs et via les organisations de gestion collective.

Dans le contexte de la numérisation de masse, il est toutefois difficile d'obtenir l'autorisation exhaustive pour toutes les œuvres individuelles. Pour chaque œuvre individuelle, l'auteur et les autres titulaires de droits doivent être identifiés, ainsi que l'ensemble des relations contractuelles historiques entre eux. Pour les titulaires de droits commerciaux, il est nécessaire de reconstituer les successions commerciales. Une fois les auteurs identifiés, il faut les localiser et/ou déterminer s'ils sont vivants ou décédés. S'ils sont décédés, et que les droits d'auteur n'ont pas encore expiré, leurs héritiers doivent être identifiés et localisés.

Il existe plusieurs millions d'œuvres individuelles, y compris chaque article, photographie, etc. dans la collection de eLuxemburgensia.lu. En raison de la longue durée des droits exclusifs conférés par la loi sur le droit d'auteur, il est pratiquement impossible de clarifier de manière exhaustive les droits de toutes les œuvres. Un problème supplémentaire pour les œuvres publiées dans les journaux est que les noms complets des auteurs sont rarement, voire pas du tout, mentionnés.

Pour permettre la numérisation de masse et l'accès numérique aux œuvres des 19ème, 20ème et 21ième siècles, le cadre juridique existant va évoluer par la transposition de la directive CDSM (« Copyright in the Digital Single Market »), notamment par l'ajout d'un statut "Œuvre hors commerce" dont les institutions culturelles seront les bénéficiaires. Si vous êtes intéressé, le dossier parlementaire ("Rôle des affaires") est le 7847.

La Bibliothèque nationale invite les auteurs et les titulaires de droits à lui faire part de leurs questions sur sa politique de gestion des droits via licensing@bnl.etat.lu.